Will Cravy & Friends | Printempo

For this second Printempo concert, double bassist Will Cravy will present a program of pieces by Ditters von Dittersdorf, Koussevitsky, Bach and Brahms, all featuring the bass as a solo instrument. He will be accompanied by Maxwell Winningham on doublebass, John Kamfonas on piano and Mark Kaylor on guitar.


Karl Ditters von Dittersdorf (1739 – 1799)
Concerto No 2 in D major

Jean-Sébastien Bach (1685 – 1750)
Cello Suite BWV 1007

Serge Koussevitzky (1874 – 1951)
Concerto in F# minor Op. 3

Johannes Brahms (1883 – 1897)
String sextet in Bb Op. 18


William McClain Cravy graduated Summa Cum Laude from the University of Southern California where he was a student of David Allen Moore. A tenured member and acting Principal Bass of the Santa Barbara Chamber Orchestra, Will has played as a soloist with numerous orchestras including the Colorado and Culver City Symphonies, and was featured in a 2015 Aspen Music Festival Student-Spotlight Recital. As an orchestral musician, Will has appeared with the National Arts Centre Orchestra, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (UK), the New World Symphony (Miami), the Las Vegas Philharmonic, the Juneau Symphony, as principal bass of Aspen Opera under Robert Spano and alongside his teacher in the Aspen Chamber Orchestra. Will has performed chamber music with members of the LA Philharmonic and the Boston Symphony and has participated in the Aspen, Lake George, Domaine Forget, Wabass Institute, and Colorado College music festivals.

Embracing his penchant for improvisation alongside his passion for the classical and contemporary repertoire, the pianist John Kamfonas has given performances around the world, from Italy to India, Beijing to New York, which have been described as possessing “a grandeur that lifted the music into the sublime…and a delicacy that took one’s breath away.” He was Harriet Hale Wooley scholarship in 2015-2016. John is currently a musician in residence at the Fondation des Etats-Unis and is pursuing a graduate diploma at the Ecole Normale de Musique de Paris under the guidance of Marian Rybicki and Jean Fassina.

Mark Kaylor est diplômé d’une licence et d’un master de Musique, obtenus avec mention  à la Florida State University où il était boursier. Il a étudié pendant six ans avec Bruce Holzman, professeur de renom et a continué son parcours en participant aux masterclasses de Pavel Steidl, Adam Holzman et Aniello Desiderio. Mark a aussi pu profiter de leçons particulières auprès de Judicael Perroy, Jason Vieaux et Stephen Robinson, guitaristes virtuoses. Pour l’année 2017-2018, il est le bénéficiaire de la Paris Guitar Foundation Young Artist Scholarship.

We use cookies to give you the best experience.