Poetic Reading with Jean Frémon, Nicole Brossard and Marjorie Welish

Jean Frémon is a French writer and currently directs the Lelong gallery. Since 1969, he has published numerous works of fiction, poems and essays on art in several publishing houses. He also translated David Sylvester’s books on Alberto Giacometti and Francis Bacon. His books are translated into English by Cole Swensen. Among his recent publications: Gloire des formes, POL, 2005 ; Louise Bourgeois : Moi, Eugénie Grandet, Gallimard, 2010 ; Rue du Regard, POL, 2012.

Poet, novelist and essayist, Nicole Brossard was born in Montreal in 1943. Since the publication of her first collection in 1965, she has published some forty books including Le désert mauve, Cahier de roses et de civilisation, Installations, La lettre aérienne, and Ardeur. She was among the leaders of a generation that, in the 1970s, renewed Quebec poetry. In 1965 she co-founded the literary magazine La Barre du Jour; in 1976 she co-founded the feminist day Les Têtes de Pioche. In 1976, she co-directed the film Some American Feminists. In 1991, with Lisette Girouard, she published an Anthology of women’s poetry in Quebec From its origins to the present day and in 2002 Poems to say the Francophonie. In 2006, she received the Canada Council for the Arts Molson Prize for lifetime achievement. An anthology of her poetry was published in 2008 under the title Dawn and Civilization.

Marjorie Welish is a poet, artist and art critic. Her most recent books such as In the Futurity Lounge / Asylum for Indeterminacy (2012) and Isle of the Signatories (2008) and Word Group (2004), as well as her critical work, have been the subject of conferences and seminars. Following an exhibition of her work at the Slought Foundation, a Cree book on her work was published: Of the Diagram: The Work of Marjorie Welish (Slought, 2003). Her critical writings are collected in Signifying Art: Essays on art after 1960 (1999). She teaches literature at Brooklyn College on the Madelon Leventhal Rand Chair and was this year awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship. Free admission!

We use cookies to give you the best experience.